With roughly 20 days left until Halloween, families are scrabbling to stores across the nation searching for the perfect costume(s) — as well as decorations for the house, and the treats they’ll be handing out to door bell-pressers.
However, if you are some of the ill-fated families residing in cities in Virginia … you may be wasting your time.
Nine cities in the commonwealth state have recently placed bans on the spooky holiday and its traditional festivities.
Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Hampton, Newport News, Suffolk, Norfolk, Virginia Beach, and the counties, Williamsburg/James City County and York County are the cities that have put restrictions on trick-or-treating this year.
For instance, if you live in Chesapeake, trick-or-treating can only transpire between 6 p.m. and 8 p.m. … AND, only children 12 and under are permitted to participate.
The city declared that police officers won’t be “actively seeking out violations of the time or age limits,” though they will be patrolling making sure that the area is secure.
Nonetheless, if you are over 12 years of age and are caught trick or treating you could face a fine anywhere between $25 to $100. On top of that, you can too face up to 6 months in the jail, if convicted.
Aside from Chesapeake, the remaining 8 areas have passed similar laws that differ marginally but each one is a dead stop at 8 pm.
YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE: