Facebook Running Privacy Checkup Campaign To Remind Users Of Their Privacy Options


Facebook

Facebook has started running ‘privacy checkups’ on the desktop version of Facebook that prompts users to make sure they’re sharing their posts with the right audience. Such as a custom list or friends instead of everyone or the public.

Users are reportedly seeing this pop up if they currently have their privacy settings set to public. The pop up that users see reads:

“Hi [name] – Sorry to interrupt. You haven’t changed who can see your posts lately, so we just wanted to make sure you’re sharing this post with the right audience. (Your current setting is Public, though you can change this whenever you post.) Learn more.

Who do you want to share this post with?”

According to Facebook the campaign officially started a few weeks ago.

Facebook seems to be taking a string of privacy measures to remind users of how much control they have over their profiles. The social network recently launched new private photo sharing tools so that users could select specific people to see their photos or photo albums that they post in their news feed.

[Photo Credit: 3rdbillion]


Chris Atkins

Chris Atkins leads product development at PostalBit, is a writer, internet marketer, content coordinator, and startup founder. He has worked alongside serial entrepreneur and investor Jason Calacanis, and social media mogul Brendan Hampton. Chris previously managed social media and produced content for Launch.co, and curated content for Funny.gg (sold to Bitly). He has spent years covering the business, technology, health, and finance sectors among many others.

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.