Blocked Twitter Users Can Now Follow You


Twitter

UPDATE: Twitter heard users loud and clear, and has reversed its decision. The block function will continue to work the same way it has in the past. To learn more, you can read the announcement here.

Twitter has updated how it handles blocked users, and in a move that will have people scratching their heads, blocked users can now follow you if your account is public.

The Next Web writer Josh Ong spotted the change, and here’s what it has to say:

What happens when a user is blocked?

If you block another user, you will no longer see:

  • The user in your follower list
  • Any updates from that user in your Home timeline, including any of their Tweets that were retweeted by accounts you follow
  • Their @replies or mentions in your Connect tab
  • Any interactions with that user’s Tweets or account (i.e., favorites, follows or Retweets) in your Interactions or Activity tabs
  • You will, however, still see this user’s Tweets appear in Search and if you navigate to their profile page.

Note: If your account is public, blocking a user does not prevent that user from following you, interacting with your Tweets, or receiving your updates in their timeline. If your Tweets are protected, blocking the user will cause them to unfollow you.

In the previous version, it clearly stated that blocked users could not follow you. However, it will now be more difficult for users to tell that you’ve actually blocked them.

Public tweets have always been viewable, blocked or not, and Twitter has yet to comment on the change.


Mike Stenger

Lover of technology, Mike often makes jokes that nobody laughs at.

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.