Google is taking a move from Facebook’s playbook, and will start using users’ public Google+ name, profile photo and other details to display on relevant ads.
Called “Shared Endorsements,” it also takes advantage of any +1s, reviews, follows or comments.
For example, if you follow a company’s page on Google+, and they ran an ad through Google Adwords, someone connected to you could see that you follow their page.
Another example is if you left a review for a restaurant, or posted a positive comment about a business.
Unlike Sponsored Stories which cost Facebook $20 million in a class action lawsuit, Google is disclosing what it’s doing from the start.
Users can only have Shared Endorsements show to specific circles, and those under 18 will not appear in them.
While you are automatically opted in, it takes less than five seconds to opt out.
- Log-in to your Google account, and visit https://plus.google.com/settings/endorsements.
- Scroll to the bottom, and you will see the text “Based upon my activity, Google may show my name and profile photo in shared endorsements that appear in ads.”
- Simply uncheck the box, and click the blue “Save” button.
Google says that Shared Endorsements will go live November 11, and you can read its Terms of Service update here.
UPDATE: Google has already started notifying users by way of the Google.com homepage.